Whatever Wednesday

As part of my mission to stay balanced, I’m going to try to post at least one non-school related post every week. For right now, my plan is to do this on Wednesdays, but don’t be surprised if you end up seeing some Whatever Mondays… or Thursdays… or Saturdays… 🙂

So, my summer has been extremely summery, and not at all school-filled, which is fabulous. I’ve spent a good many mornings and afternoons at Barton Springs Pool, the fabulous spring-fed pool that we Austinites are so fond of.

Swimming at Barton Springs is a magical, if not downright therapeutic experience. You can’t tell from this angle, but I love how you can see downtown in the background. It’s so amazing that we have this massive, natural pool in literally the heart of the city. The next best thing, is NOT that it’s 68F degrees year round, but how good you feel after you get out of the water. It is sooo incredibly rejuvenating, that it’s almost guaranteed to brighten any shitty day.

I’ve spent A LOT of time yoga-ing and cycling. (And yes, the best combo is when I cycle to Barton Springs, and do yoga in the grass while I’m there! That hasn’t happened often enough though…) I really hope to continue these activities throughout the school year. That’s partially because these are the only kind of physical activities that I really enjoy doing for exercise, but it’s mostly because I just love yoga-ing and cycling. The exercise is just a plus!   (By the way, I do yoga at home through Black Swan Yoga TV – It’s amaaazing.)I

Beyond that, I’ve read books (something I haven’t done since I’ve started teaching) returned to my blog 🙂 and done more cooking than I’ve done in the last year. Below are some of my recent favorites – Enjoy!

Skinny Frozen Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups

Chicken Tortilla Casserole

But this was probably my fav! So easy, so delcious, so filling, but also less than 300 calories! Perfect! (From Getting Fit With Janie Facebook group)

SLOW-COOKER SALSA CHICKEN!

Ingredients
2 lbs. (32 oz.) chicken breasts, boneless and skinless
1 cup salsa, homemade or purchased
1 cup petite diced canned tomatoes [I used Pomi chopped tomatoes]
2 tbsp. taco seasoning
1 cup onions, diced fine
1/2 cup celery diced fine
1/2 cup carrots, shredded
3 tbsp. sour cream, reduced fat
Directions
Place the chicken in a slow cooker. Sprinkle the taco seasoning over the meat then layer the vegetables and salsa on top. Pour a half cup water over the mixture, set on low and cook for 6-8 hours. The meat is cooked when it shreds or reaches an internal temperature of 165°F. When ready to serve, break up the chicken with two forks then stir in the sour cream.
Makes eight 1 cup servings.

**Addition. Here’s another favorite. YUM! Southwest Salmon with Black Bean Salsa

2 thoughts on “Whatever Wednesday

  1. This is the first summer I’ve let myself abandon schoolwork and it feels great! Enjoy the rest of your summer. Th peace and beauty of tht pool looks and sounds amazing!

    • Good for you! You definitely deserve it – I can tell from your blog that you really love your job, and put a lot of time and energy to make learning fun and meaningful for your students.Thanks for sharing all of your ideas with us, and for checking out my blog!

Leave a Reply

